Edward Kleinhammer Orchestral Bass Trombone Competition

For bass trombonists ages 25 and under - birth date of January 1, 1988 or later.

First Prize - TBA

General Rules and Requirements

Additional Rules

  • Past winners of the Edward Kleinhammer Orchestral Bass Trombone Competition or the Edward Kleinhammer Orchestral Bass Trombone Competition are not eligible in the 2014 Kleinhammer Bass Trombone Competition.
  • The preliminary round list should be submitted as a single audio file, with all excerpts performed in the order listed.
  • Preliminary round excerpts may be recorded separately, but there may be no editing within an individual excerpt.

Preliminary Round Repertoire

All items must be recorded in the order listed below

  • Hindemith
    Drei leichte Stücke (Three Easy Pieces), Schott - Movement 1, Performed without accompaniment.
  • Haydn
    Creation - Bass Trombone. Movement 26. Beginning to Rehearsal C. First 37 measures.
  • Respighi
    Fountains of Rome - 3rd Trombone. Pickup to Rehearsal 11 through five measures before Rehearsal 16.
  • Schumann
    Symphony No.3 - Bass Trombone. Beginning through Measure 18.
  • Wagner
    Ride of the Valkyries - Trombone III. Act 3, Scene 1. B minor passage, pickup to Measure 37 through Measure 44. AND B major passage, pickup to Measure 59 through Measure 77.

Final Round Repertoire

Excerpts to be chosen from the Preliminary Round, in addition to:

  • Richard Strauss
    Ein Heldenleben - Trombone 3, Rehearsal 55 through the 2nd measure of Rehearsal 56; Rehearsal 62 through the 1st measure of Rehearsal 65; 2nd measure of Rehearsal 71 through downbeat of Rehearsal 74.
  • Rossini
    William Tell Overture - Trombone 3, Rehearsal C through 9th measure of Rehearsal D.

Past Winners

Van Haney

Year Winner School
1993 Jon Etterbeek Juilliard School of Music
1994 Darren McHenry Juilliard School of Music
1995 Stephen Lange Indiana University
1996 Norbert Lakzsko Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, Hungary
1997 Mark Templeton Guildhall School of Music, London, England
1998 Garnett Livingston Juilliard School of Music
1999 Scott Parkinson Juilliard School of Music
2000 Jeffrey A. Gray Juilliard School of Music
2001 Darcio Gianelli Juilliard School of Music
2002 Wes Citron Manhattan School of Music
2003 Tenor - James Williams Juilliard School of Music
Bass - no winner
2004 Tenor - Robert Kastner
Bass - Dan West University of North Texas
2005 Tenor - Kyle Covington Juilliard School of Music
Bass - Matyas Veer Liszt Academy of Music-Budapest
2006 Tenor - Marques Young
Juilliard School of Music
Bass - Zachary Bond
Curtis Institute of Music graduate
2007 Tenor - Mark Davidson
Juilliard School of Music
Bass - Ilan Morgenstern
University of Michigan
2008 Tenor- Shachar Israel Juilliard School of Music.


Year Winner School
2008 Daniel Brady Southern Methodist University
2009 Christian Poitinger Universität für Musik, Vienna, Austria
2010 Jeremy Stones University of North Texas
2011 Raymond Flores Conservatorio de Musica de Puerto Rico
2012 Nuno Henriques Koninklijk Conservatorium, Den Haag, The Netherlands
2013 Scott P. Hartman DePaul University