Frank Smith Trombone Competition

For trombonists ages 25 and under (birth date of January 1, 1990 or later)

First Prize - TBA

General Rules and Requirements

Additional Rules

  • Live piano accompaniment is required. No pre-recorded accompaniments are acceptable.
  • The required repertoire should be submitted as a single audio file, with no editing within the submitted audio file.
  • Past winners of the Frank Smith Tenor Trombone Competition are not eligible in the 2016 Smith competition.

Preliminary Round Repertoire

  • Concerto for Trombone, by Henri Tomasi, movement 1 (Alphonse Leduc)

Final Round Repertoire

  • Fantasy, by Paul Creston (G. Schirmer, Inc./Hal Leonard)

Past Winners

Year Winner School
1975 John Vance University of Northern Colorado
1976 Ken Crane Berklee College of Music
1977 Stan Adams University of Southern Illinois
1978 Don Lucas Texas Tech University
1979 Chris Matten University of Texas-Austin
1980 Paul Hunt Youngstown State University
1981 Tom Ashworth University of North Texas
1982 Susan K. Smith University of North Texas
1983 Stephen B. Parsons University of Kansas
1984 David Vining Florida State University
1985 Mark R. Williams University of Texas-Austin
1986 Steve Schoppert McNeese State University
1987 Julie Josephson New England Conservatory
1988 Jeff Knutson Eastman School of Music
1989 no recipient
1990 no recipient
1991 Lynn Mostoller Eastman School of Music
1992 Algat Abduraimov Kazakhstan
1993 James Fantz University of Houston
1994 Jon Etterbeek Juilliard School of Music
1995 Tricia Baran Arizona State University
1996 Barry Hearn University of Illinois
1997 Norbert Laczko Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, Hungary
1998 Stephen Lange Indiana University
1999 Nathan Zgonc San Francisco Conservatory
2000 Jerry Hou University of Minnesota
2001 Clifford Dale Moore II Florida State University
2002 James Williams Juilliard School of Music
2003 Robert Kozanek Academy of Performing Arts, Prague
2004 Simeon Stoyanov Central Michigan University
2005 Marques Young Juilliard School of Music
2006 Quirijn van der Bijlaard Rotterdam Conservatory
2007 Jeremy Wilson University of North Texas
2008 Steve Menard University of San Francisco
2009 Kyle Mullins University of North Texas
2010 Christopher Wolf Juilliard School of Music
2011 Li Kuang Bowling Green State University
2012 Eric Bowman Western Michigan University
2013 Josh Balleza University of Texas at Austin
2014 Sebastiaan Kemner Conservatorium van Amsterdam
2015 Joao Martinho Universität der Kü̈nste Berlin