Larry Wiehe Trombone Competition

For tenor trombonists ages 23 and under - birth date of January 1, 1990 or later

First Prize - TBA

General Rules and Requirements

Additional Rules

  • Live piano accompaniment is required. No pre-recorded accompaniments are acceptable.
  • Any repeats should be performed as printed.
  • Past winners of the Larry Wiehe Trombone Competition are not eligible in the 2014 Wiehe Trombone Competition.

Preliminary Round Repertoire

  • Gardell Simons
    Atlantic Zephyrs
    Arr. Buckholz (Kagarice Brass Editions)

Final Round Repertoire

  • Arthur Pryor
    Annie Laurie
    Ed. by Robert Isele (Kagarice Brass Editions)

Past Winners

Year Winner School
1996 Rebecca Howenstine Eastman School of Music
1997 Mark Templeton Guildhall School of Music, London, England
1998 Peter Swann University of Southern Mississippi
1999 David Sisk Youngstown State University
2000 Andrew Poirier University of British Columbia
2001 Jonathan Lombardo Juilliard School of Music
2002 Ellen Marple University of North Texas
2003 Achilleas Liarmakopoulous Rio Mesa High School, Camarillo, CA
2004 Jordan Witt Cincinnati Conservatory of Music
2005 Jason Robins Yale University
2006 Andrew Connington Royal Academy of Music
2007 Andrew Shelton Mars Hill College (NC)
2008 Adam Hanna Southeast Oklahoma State University
2009 Jason Cash Oklahoma State University
2010 Hana Beloglavec Western Michigan University
2011 Brian Santero Curtis Institute of Music
2012 John Romero Baylor University
2013 Jonathan Houghtling DePaul University